STATE OF TEXAS λ

GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT λ

COUNTY OF UPSHUR λ

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in regular session on Monday, April 17, 2017, at 6:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Building, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

Board members present:

Members absent: Diedra Camp Todd Tefteller

Gloria King Clayton Tefteller Lula Johnson Kenny Southwell Mark Skinner, presiding

Also present were Rick Albritton, Judy Moore, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Skinner at 6:00 PM

INVOCATION: Mr. Southwell

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Mr. Clayton Tefteller

PUBLIC COMMENTS/AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: None

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORTS

- A. Presentation and acknowledgement of service to Dr. Sigrid Yates, retiring 6/30/2017.
- B. TASB Summer Leadership conference

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- A. Minutes of the March 20, 2017 meeting of the Board
- B. Financial and tax collection reports
- C. Budget amendments
- D. Student transfers for school year 2016-2017

Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mrs. Johnson to approve consent agenda items "A-D", in their entirety. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes. (Info on file)

REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS:

<u>TASB (LOCAL) BOARD POLICY UPDATE 107 AFFECTING (LOCAL) POLICIES</u>: Motion was made by Mrs. Johnson and seconded by Mrs. King to approve TASB Board Policy Update 107 on final reading. (On file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

<u>FIRST READING TOAPPROVE TASB BOARD POLICY FNF (Local) –Interrogations and searches:</u> Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Clayton Tefteller to approve TASB Board Policy FNF

(Local) on first reading. (On file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

TASB BOARD POLICIES FOR REVIEW:

- 1. Policy EIC (L) Class ranking
- 2. Policy FFA (L) Wellness and health services

Discussion item only, no action.

CONSIDER ATHLETIC STRENGTH EQUIPMENT PROPOSAL: Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mrs. King that the Board approve the bid for athletic strength equipment from Rogers Athletic at a cost of \$82,940. (The equipment will not be purchased until donations are received). (On file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

PROPERTY/CASUALTY COVERAGE FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2017-2018: Motion was made by Mrs. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Southwell for the Board to approve using TASB Risk Management Fund for the District's property/casualty/auto insurance for 2017-2018. (Info on file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

<u>UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK LIABILITY FOR 2017-2018</u>: Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Johnson that the Board approve the TopTanx renewal policy brokered by TASB Risk Management Fund for the District's underground storage tank liability coverage for 2017-2018. (On file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

STAFFING REQUIREMENTS FOR 2016-2017 AND 2017-2018

EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED): The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 (Personnel Matters) and 551.072 (Real Property) on Monday, April 17, 2017, at 6:43 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 7:42 p.m., April 17, 2017, for consideration of the following:

- Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)
- Term and probationary contract recommendations
- Consider sale of real property

ACTION FOLLOWING CLOSED SESSION:

- Motion was made by Mrs. Johnson and seconded by Mrs. King to accept the probationary and term contract recommendations (with the exception of Keen) for school year 2017-2018 as presented by the Superintendent. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes. (On file)
- Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mrs. King to offer a probationary teaching contracts to Angel Bartram, Courtney Matulis, and Anita Nance for the 2017-2018 school year. An administrative contract was approved for Brandi Patterson. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mrs. Johnson to adjourn the meeting at 7:43 p.m. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

By:		By:	
-	Mark Skinner, Board President	Gloria Kir	ng, Secretary

IMADELINE
JULIE
RONDA
MICHAEL
HANNAH
ASHLEY
TEGE
JANA
JULIE
MARVIN
CARMEN
ANGELA
BRIAN
ANDREA
STEPHANIE
KAREN
EMILY
SUMMER
TAMICA
CATHRYN
BRENDON
JOHN
SANDRA
SHEILA
KIARA

<u></u>	<u>, }: _—±: _ *==</u>
LAGRONE	HOLLY
LUNSFORD	ERIKA
MCKNIGHT	RODERICK
NANCE	ANDREA
NANCE	NATHAN
RAMBO	JACQUELYN
SIMS	KAYCIE
SMITH	KATIE
STONE	LINDSEY
TANTON	LORELEI
WATSON	AMBER
ATKINS	DANA
BOOTHE	MELANIE
DONICA	PAMELA
GRIFFIN	DEMETRA
JACOBS	BRITTNEY
JOHNSON	EMILIE
KEAHEY	HEATHER
KEAHEY	KYLE
KELLEY	EMILY
MATTHEW	GINNY
REED	GEORGIANNA
WILLIAMS	BRANDON
WILLIAMS	JESSICA
BENNETT	ALYSE
BRANUM	JENNETTE

BUNN	COLTON
DAVIS	KATIE
HARRISON	GREGORY
LAIR	TABITHA
MCCAULEY	JAMES
PITTINGER	BRANDI
RUCKER	JENNIFER
SHEPARD	MORGAN
WHITSELL	TIARA
HAWKINS	LESLIE